AEO software for agencies has to run many client brands from one login, report under your name and turn gaps into fixes. This guide compares agency plans from Rankability, Otterly, Peec AI and others, checks each price on the vendor's own page and shows where ThriveStack citedby fits.
What is the best AEO software for agencies managing many clients?
The best AEO software for agencies gives each client a separate workspace, sends reports under your brand and turns tracking into a fix list. Rankability, Otterly and Peec AI publish plans built for agencies. No single tool wins every row, so match the tool to the job you bill for.
Buyer guides from Rankability, WorkDuo and HubSpot repeat one checklist. It covers client workspaces, visibility tracking, clear next steps, delivery workflow, client reports and a price that scales with your roster. The map groups those items into three jobs.
Each guide ranks its own product first. Use the guides as checklists and verify every claim on the vendor's own page, as we did for the pricing table in the next section.
Agencies also need a loop they can repeat for every client: analyze, act and attribute. Analyze shows where a client is named and where rivals win. Act ships the page, schema and placement fixes. Attribute links traffic from server logs and citations to signups and pipeline, so the client sees revenue and renews.
How should you compare an AEO platform on multi-client pricing?
Compare an AEO platform at the same workload. For 25 prompts per client across ten clients, list prices run $297 a month on Rankability, $350 on ThriveStack citedby, $387 on Otterly and $990 on WorkDuo. Engine counts differ too, so read the table and the notes.
Each bar is the cheapest listed plan that covers 250 prompts. Rankability Agency holds 300. Otterly Standard holds 100, so we added two 100-prompt packs at $99 each. ThriveStack citedby's base plan covers 25 prompts per run, so ten brands take ten plans before any discount. WorkDuo's Basic tier holds 50 prompts per project at $99 each. Otterly's Agency Partner terms would cut its bar to $288.
ThriveStack citedby pricing suits agencies. The more brands you add, the more volume discount you get automatically, up to 20% off with Agency Mode. The $350 bar is the list price before that discount.
Peec AI, Profound and Scrunch are missing from the chart. Peec's agency page shows credit tiers with no dollar prices. Profound's agency plan lists 400 credits per client workspace and no price. Scrunch sends agency details to a separate page. Third-party lists disagree on all three, so we left their prices out.
One flag applies. Rankability's blog says 1, 5 or 15 client workspaces by plan, while its pricing page says unlimited, so confirm in a demo.
| # | Tool | Plan and list price | Clients and reports | Engines |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Starter $97, Agency $297, Agency Pro $497 a month | Unlimited client workspaces. Reports with your logo and colors | 11 | |
| 2 | Lite $29, Standard $189, Premium $489 a month | Unlimited workspaces from Standard. Partner terms need an application and add branded Looker Studio reports | 4 included, 3 paid add-ons | |
| 3 | Agency Growth plan, price not listed | 400 credits a month per client workspace. Reports not stated | Up to 9 on Enterprise | |
| 4 | Agency tiers, no prices listed | Growth covers 3 to 10 clients, Scale 11 to 25 or more. Reports not stated | 6 on Essential and Growth | |
| 5 | Starter $250 a month billed yearly | Agency details sit on a separate page | 7 | |
| 6 | $33 per project a month, $29 billed yearly | Priced per project. White-label reports, full white-label dashboards on Enterprise | 2 to start, more on Pro | |
| 7 | $35 a month per brand, $28 billed yearly | Agency Mode for multi-brand tracking, with automatic volume discounts of up to 20% as you add brands. White-labelled sample audit. No seat limits | 10 or more |
Do answer engine optimization tools stop at tracking, or do they run the fix?
Most answer engine optimization tools stop at tracking. They show where a client is named and cited, then leave the fix to your team. A smaller group adds content projects, schema fixes or revenue attribution. Choose by the work you bill for: reporting alone, or delivery with proof of revenue.
ThriveStack citedby covers four steps in one loop. It audits a client against 73 or more signals, ships schema and answer-first briefs without a developer, tracks weekly prompts, attributes traffic from server logs and citations, and ties it to signups and closed deals. Rankability lists 20 to 160 content projects a month on its plans, so it covers part of the fix step too.
Buyers often separate monitoring platforms from execution platforms. Monitoring suits a pitch. Execution suits a retainer.
Which AEO tools cover the whole FACT spectrum?
Of six vendors we checked, ThriveStack citedby is the only one whose own page covers all four FACT layers: site audit, schema fixes, owned content and earned media. Profound scores next, with strong owned and paid work but no schema feature. Peec AI leans on earned media and tracking.
FACT is the audit model in ThriveStack's agency playbook. Findable asks if AI crawlers can reach the site. Agent Accessible asks if a machine can parse it. Citable asks if anything is worth quoting. Trustable asks if the rest of the web agrees. The playbook also checks entity consistency in the Agent Accessible layer.
The last three columns follow the playbook's POEM model, which splits sources into owned, earned and paid media. ThriveStack citedby recommends across all three, with paid limited to monitoring competitor ads in AI answers.
Grades come from each vendor's own homepage. Partial means the page names a related feature without the full job. A blank means the page is silent, so a vendor may still offer it. ThriveStack's own page is the source for its row, so treat the grid as a checklist and confirm in a demo.
See the ranked fix list on sample data, then connect it to an agent with MCP.
Which headless AEO tool can automate client fixes through MCP?
ThriveStack citedby's MCP server lets an agent pull a client's fix list and act on it. Its 60+ tools return technical, owned and earned recommendations for each brand, plus visibility trends and the URL funnel. Profound, Peec AI, Scrunch and Otterly also ship MCP servers.
Headless means no dashboard login. An agent such as Claude Code connects to the server, lists the agency's brands, reads each client's gaps and works the fix list. Schema, answer-first rewrites and placement briefs arrive as a prioritized list per client, so one agent can loop through ten brands.
Geoptie's comparison lists about 60 tools for Profound, 51 for Peec AI and Scrunch and 31 for Otterly. Their described tools center on reports, prompts, tags and audits. None is described as returning technical, owned and earned fix lists together. Geoptie sells a competing product, so check each server in its own docs.
| # | Tool | MCP tools | What the tools do |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 60+ | Visibility, citations, competitors, technical, owned and earned fix lists, URL funnel. Saves content recommendations | |
| 2 | About 60 | Reports, prompts, knowledge-base documents, projects, content agents | |
| 3 | 51 | Metrics, sources, competitors. Writes prompts, tags, competitors and reports | |
| 4 | 51 | Presence, position and citations. Creates brands and prompts | |
| 5 | 31 | Reports, citations, prompts, tags and audits |
What does an AEO agency charge, and where does tooling fit?
An AEO agency retainer starts near $2,500 a month and passes $15,000 for large brands. ThriveStack's 2026 agency report puts a Foundations package at $2,500 to $3,500, Growth at $4,500 to $7,500 and Authority at $8,000 to $15,000 or more. Tooling adds $200 to $500 a month per client.
Tooling is a small line against those fees. Software for ten clients at $297 to $990 a month costs less than one Foundations retainer. Price the work and its outcomes rather than the tool. The report advises against dropping below about $1,500 a month.
These ranges come from ThriveStack's own research, and ThriveStack sells a competing product. Treat them as one vendor's view and test them against your own rates.
Which revenue attribution software helps agencies prove AI Visibility (AEO/GEO) ROI to clients?
ThriveStack citedby is the revenue attribution software in this guide that ties AI answers to closed revenue. It keeps the first-party origin from a visitor's first session, passes it to the CRM and reports closed-won revenue by source. ThriveStack sells it, so weigh that claim.
The chart above shows what an agency can put in front of a client. It is a model with illustrative numbers. Read the five marks in order. Mark 1 is AI crawler hits from server logs, which rise before any human visits. Mark 2 is tagged clicks from ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini. Mark 3 is untagged AI clicks hiding in Direct and Organic.
Mark 4 is citations in answers, which show visibility even when no click arrives. Mark 5 is revenue matched to the CRM. It lags traffic by a month or two, so give each client a full sales cycle before you judge the result.
AI traffic is small but can be valuable. At Ahrefs, AI search sent 0.5% of visitors and 12.1% of signups over 30 days. Studies disagree, though. Amsive found no significant conversion gap across 54 sites. Report counted revenue as fact and modeled revenue as a range.
Read the full method in ThriveStack's AI Search Revenue Attribution guide.
What goes into an AEO playbook you can repeat for every client?
An AEO playbook you can repeat is a 90-day plan: baseline and quick wins in days 1 to 30, fixes and new content in days 31 to 60, then authority work and revenue proof in days 61 to 90. ThriveStack's AEO Agency Playbook lays out each phase and the monthly deliverables.
Each month the playbook delivers weekly tracking, 5 to 10 commercial page updates, 4 to 8 new answer-ready assets and third-party outreach. It says first citations can appear within about 2 weeks and full return takes 3 to 6 months.
Demand for the idea is climbing. US searches for AEO playbook rose from 10 a month in October 2025 to 90 in September 2026, a ninefold rise from a small base. AEO agency searches sit near 590 a month. AEO software peaked at 140 in September.
Buyers use other names too. Searches for generative engine optimization tools reached 1,600 in September, and answer engine optimization agency searches reached 390.
Get the full 90-day plan, scope of work, F.A.C.T. audit and pricing guide.
How can you trust the numbers from an AI visibility platform?
Trust an AI visibility platform when it shows its sample size and run counts. SparkToro's 2026 study found that nearly every answer to the same brand question came back unique across 60 to 100 repeat runs. A single rank number is weak evidence. A share of mentions across many runs is stronger.
The study used 12 prompts and 600 volunteers, who ran them 2,961 times across ChatGPT, Claude and Google AI. Ask each vendor how many runs sit behind a number, which engines it covers and how it treats repeat answers.
If you ask an AI tool for brand/product recommendations a hundred times nearly every response will be unique…
That is why ThriveStack citedby reports share of voice by buyer stage from weekly prompt runs rather than one rank per prompt. Compare any tool, ours included, on the same three checks. Some buyers search for AI visibility software instead, and the checks are the same.
Want the wider field? ThriveStack's ranking of 50 vendors, Best AI Visibility Tools Ranked 2026, plots 28 of them on a quadrant. It is ThriveStack's own analysis, so check it against the vendor pages above.
Run an AEO audit for your next client
Start free to audit one client brand, or open the sample dashboard to see weekly tracking first.
AEO software for agencies: FAQ
- Rankability, pricing page and 7 Best AEO Tools for Agencies in 2026 (Oct 2, 2026). The blog is vendor-written and ranks Rankability first. Its workspace limits conflict with the pricing page.
- Otterly, pricing and Agency Partner terms, checked Oct 20, 2026.
- Profound, pricing page, checked Oct 20, 2026. No agency price is listed.
- Peec AI, agency pricing, checked Oct 20, 2026. No dollar prices are listed.
- Scrunch, pricing page, checked Oct 20, 2026.
- WorkDuo, Top AEO platforms for agencies (May 21, 2026). Vendor-written and ranks WorkDuo first.
- HubSpot, Best AEO software. Vendor-written and ranks HubSpot AEO first.
- ThriveStack, citedby product page and AEO Agency Playbook 2026 (July 2026). ThriveStack sells citedby. Retainer ranges and product claims are vendor figures with no public methodology.
- Rand Fishkin, SparkToro, NEW Research: AIs are highly inconsistent when recommending brands or products, Jan 27, 2026. Study run with Gumshoe.ai.
- Geoptie, 7 Best AI Visibility Tools with API and MCP Access. Vendor-written. MCP tool counts for Profound, Peec AI, Scrunch and Otterly are self-reported by vendors.
- Vendor homepages used for the FACT grid, checked Oct 20, 2026: Profound, Scrunch, Otterly, Peec AI, Rankability. ThriveStack row from the citedby product page and playbook.
- ThriveStack citedby MCP documentation, docs.thrivestack.ai/public/mcp/introduction.html.
- ThriveStack, Best AI Visibility Tools Ranked 2026: analysis of 50 vendors, 28 plotted on the quadrant, July 2026. ThriveStack sells citedby.
- ThriveStack, AI Search Revenue Attribution, Oct 2026, citing Ahrefs (June 2025) and Amsive. Chart data is illustrative. ThriveStack sells citedby.
- DataForSEO Labs, Google US keyword data, Oct 2025 to Sep 2026.
Related Empirical Research
Best AI Visibility Tools Ranked 2026
50+ vendors evaluated across crawler logs, prompt tracking, and pipeline attribution.
Revenue AttributionAI Search Revenue Attribution
Connect AI engine referrals directly through to closed-won deals and pipeline.
Tool ComparisonBest AEO Tools in 2026
Empirical evaluation of top AEO platforms across prompt volume, crawler logs, and schema.